Wednesday, October 1, 2003

Nasarawa Assembly boycotts swearing in of commissioners

From Yusuf Ozi-Usman, in Lafia

The governor of Nasarawa State, Alhaji Abdullahi Adamu, yesterday, sworn in 18 new commissioners 10 special advisers and seven permanent secretaries even as the state assembly shunned the ceremony.

The state has been ran for over 120 days by the governor without cabinet members, a situation which almost grounded government activities.

At the swearing-in yesterday, there was no members of the State House of Assembly as the speaker, Alhaji Mohammed Ogoshi Onao told reporters that they were not properly invited.

The new cabinet had five additional ministries, including land and survey; housing and environment, cooperative and communities, as well as economic planning and budgeting.

Those swore in are Ovey Bala Angbazo for water resources development, Shuaibu Abdullahi Kore for Education, Silas Agara for youth and sport, Charity Solomon Mazunche for women affairs and rural development.

Others are Bala Usman for local government and chieftaincy affairs, Kabiru Mohammed for finance, Barrister Mohammed Abdullahi for justice, Bagudu Usman for economic planning and budgeting, Abdullahi Makeri for culture and tourism, Talatu Ogbayi Umaru fo cooperatives and community and Engr. Yakubu Gbefe for works and transport.

Other commissioners sworn are Musa Agyo for lands and survey, Dr. Mohammed Ahmed for health, Ibrahim Ango Ashabutu for housing and environment, Suleiman Asonya Adokwe for information, Aishatu Rufai Ibrahim for agriculture and natural resources, Tanko Zabairu for urban development, and Dinatu Jerry Iwala for commerce and industry.

Special advisers sworn in are Hamza Elayo for inter-governmental relations, Mrs Lantana Ladi Ahmed for legislative liaison, Salisu Abdullahi Ugga for labour relations, Francis I. V. Uger for revenue mobilisation, and Oliver N. Agwadu for manpower development.

Others are Mohammed Halilu Envuluanza for special duties in governorís office, David Efuna for political, Isa Ahmed Muhammed for security, Joshua Jiji for technical education and Fidelis Ebu for special duties in deputy governorís office.